Discover Local Churches
St Oswalds North Side
A site about Historical East Yorkshire Churches now includes an excellent pamphlet about churches in the Filey Area. The pamphlet can be downloaded from the site as a pdf file or is available from the local Tourist Information Centre.
Discover Local Churches
Filey Methodist Church
Filey Methodist Church, with its Spire is a central Filey landmark. It was built in 1876 for £5000 in the Gothic Style. At that time it was known as the Wesleyan chapel a different branch of Methodism to the Primitive tradition of Filey’s second chapel, Ebenezer, which was built just down the street. In 1918 the building suffered considerable damage from an extensive fire, it was reopened in 1923. In June 1931 the Chapel suffered earthquake damage and the top part of the spire was displaced.
In 1932, when the Wesleyan and Primitive Methodist Connections were merged, the ‘Wesleyan Chapel’ was renamed ‘Trinity’ . Both Trinity and Ebenezer Methodist Churches continued side by side and significant differences between their congregations remained, with a more formal style of worship at ‘Trinity’ which included a robed choir. Ebenezer catered for Filey’s fishermen. By 1975 less than a handful of Fishing families continued to support Ebenezer and in 1975 the building was shut. The two congregations were merged very successfully. The name Trinity was dropped and the building was renamed Filey Methodist Church. Ebenezer was turned into a builders warehouse and shops for several years and was then converted into a block of flats.
In 2007 major refurbishment on Filey Methodist Church was completed, with disabled access, a modern kitchen, hall and Upstairs showers and simple accommodation. The church is known for an extensive season of Concerts and Social events. Details of forthcoming services and events can be found at the Filey Methodist Church Website.
Historical details have been extracted from the Filey Methodist Church Leaflet, copies of which are on display at the Church.
The Salvation Army
The Salvation Army in Filey was formed in 1928. It was based in a building in Mitford Street with tiered seating descending to a central stove which provided heating. In 1974 the old building was demolished and replaced by a modern one storey building.
Sunday Worship is at 11am and 6pm.
Monday – 1.45pm – Over 60′s meeting
Tuesday – 1.30pm Men’s Fellowship 4pm – Kids for Christ
Wednesday – 2.30pm Home League 7pm Bible Fellowship
The Church of St John the Evangelist
The Church of St John the Evangelist is set back in it’s own award winning garden and small car park in West Avenue, Filey. It is not an eye catching church, the Victorian Architect C. Hodgson Fowler was regarded as ‘dependable but unexciting’ . St John’s opened in 1873, the site and stone was provided by Hunmanby ‘Lord of the Manor’ Admiral Mitford, who died in 1870 before the Church was complete, the East window is dedicated to him. Stone appears to have been sourced from Filey Brigg, where the Admiral retained his manorial rites of quarrying.
The church was what is known as a ‘chapel of ease’ and acted as an overflow for visitors to the Crescent. who preferred this nearby church to a walk to the Parish Church at St Oswald’s for communion before breakfast.
St John’s was also used by local people but in the late 60′s was closed. In the early 70′s a dividing wall was built right across the west side of the transepts and the west end of the church was turned into the Parish Hall with a small concert hall in an upstairs room. In 2011 the church was refurbished.
St Johns is presently open between 10am and noon Mondays to Saturdays, although this may be amended in future. There is a communion at 10am on Fridays. Services are currently on alternate Sundays – see the church notices or Filey Parish Blog for details.
St Johns East side
Parish Sundae at St Johns
!870′s etching of St Johns
Filey Infants meeting in the church
Nave of St Johns looking East
Garden of St John’s
St John’s South Side
North Transept Arts and Craft Window St John’s
St Oswald’s Ancient Church of Fishermen and Townsfolk
The 12th Century Church of St Oswald’s is situated on the South side of Filey’s Country Park next to the the Church Ravine. On the opposite bank of Ravine are the remaining old buildings of Filey, centered on Queen Street, where many of Filey’s fishing families lived. St Oswald’s used to be in the North Riding of York and Queen Street in East Yorkshire. When a local speaks about ‘going over to the North Riding’ . They are talking about the funeral procession to St Oswald’s graveyard.
The church was built between about 1180 and 1230 and has had many alterations over the centuries. In 1764 the Vicar lived at Hunmanby and there were only four communions a year at St Oswalds. most of the stained glass is relatively recent.
During the Summer the Church is open most days. See Filey Parish Website.
Carving of boy bishop St Oswalds
View towards altar ancient altar in foreground
Fish Weather Vane on Tower
General View of South side
Nave looking West
Graveyard looking to East
St Oswalds North Side
Graveyard view from tower
General view South Entrance
|Mammals & Reptiles|
|Things to do|
|Discover Filey in Depth|
|Filey Folk Club|